Our Mission at Work

This month we are featuring one of our Look Good Feel Better program volunteers, Laurie Libarios. She shares with us her story of how she got involved with the American Cancer Society.

Why did you choose to become an LGBF volunteer? When my sister was diagnosed, I started looking for information and resources on the ACS webiste.  While browsing through their resources, I came across this wonderful program with a great title called “Look Good Feel Better”. Because of my counseling background, coupled with an interest in women, self-improvement, and empowerment, I thought this could be a program where my skills and passion would be best utilized.

 How does it make you feel when you help others? It’s been a pleasure being a general LGFB volunteer alongside Cosmetologist Professionals Kaimi and Susan.  It may seem like a small task to set up the room and the make-up supplies for the attendees but I believe that by preparing the room and the tables for the session, this allows the Cosmetologists to come and execute what they do best – to teach women how to look and feel their best.  I enjoy welcoming the women to our session and setting the tone for great morning together.  I am also honored and humbled to play a small part in their journey.

 What are your thoughts about this program? I love that it is a free public service program!  The LGFB program is so much more than simply learning about the step-by-step make-up application.  While that is a good reason in and of itself, I think the best and biggest takeaway for these women is experiencing the volunteers’ desire to help women feel better – even if it is just for that day.  Everything about this program is so positive.

For more information about our Look Good Feel Better program visit us online at cancer.org or call 1-800-227-2345.

