American Cancer Society

Hawaii Pacific

Our Mission at Work

 

0128.49Road_to_Recovery_facebook-cover-finalWhen transportation is a cancer patient’s biggest roadblock to treatment, the American Cancer Society Road to Recovery program provides the rides that can help save lives. And we need your help. For those who cannot drive themselves or have no other means of getting to their treatment, volunteers donate their spare time and the use of their personal vehicle to give cancer patients in their community a much-needed lift.

So if you own a car, then you are already on the road to helping save lives.

Here is a story from one of our local Road to Recovery volunteers…

Several years ago, while working as a Realtor and dotting grandmother, I was looking for a way to volunteer for a cause I believed in.  I thought that a goal to help eliminate Cancer, enabling my grandchildren to live a Cancer free life would fit perfectly. I needed it to be something that would fit into my changeable schedule and also allow me to include grandchildren when necessary.

While attending the first Windward Relay For Life in Kailua I came upon a table with information about Road to Recovery (then called Angels on Wheels.)  It fit all the requirements I mentioned and more! With Road to Recovery you only take the assignments that fit your schedule, and many times I had two grandchildren in the car with me.  It was never a problem, because of course they were so cute that all my riders loved them.  No, truly……and they are still cute!

I have met some wonderful people and enjoyed talking to some real interesting characters. And they are all so appreciative to be able to get a ride to their appointments. Now with the computer listing all the opportunities available, it is even easier to volunteer and make a difference in someone’s life.

The training is helpful and all you need is a little time…..Try It!!!!

~ Donlei

https://www.cancer.org/involved/volunteer/road-to-recovery.html

