For the love of family

On this Valentines Day, we thought we would share with you a heartfelt story from Maui. Brian Burns began his Spirit of Survival walk in honor of his sisters and to support the mission of the American Cancer Society Making Strides Against Breast Cancer Walk of Hawaii. Here is his story in his words.

“My life has forever been altered due to the disease of breast cancer. I have had three sisters whom I love dearly suffer with breast cancer. I have witnessed the devastating affect that it takes on those you love physically, mentally and emotionally. I have witnessed how this awful disease ravages the body and spirit. I have also witnessed hope and recovery. I have witnessed the strength and virtue it takes to fight the disease and live life as best you can with dignity and grace. For too many it takes their lives. My sister Susan Burns fought a courageous battle and was taken by the disease in 2000. My sister Eileen Burns fought a courageous battle and was taken by this disease in 2012. There is also hope. My sister Maureen Covell has fought a courageous battle, she was diagnosed in 2010; she has been a survivor for 6 years. I have faith that we can find a cure. The American Cancer Society’s Making Strides Against Breast Cancer funds cancer research and patient services in Hawaii. In an effort to make a difference in the fight against breast cancer, find a cure and help those affected by the disease I created a (feeder) walk against breast cancer on Maui.  As a resident I saw the need to create one in our community to have an opportunity to make a difference in the fight against breast cancer , bring hope and Honor of my sisters courageous battle.”

You can join in our mission to save lives by signing up for the 2017 Making Strides Against Breast Cancer walk. www.makingstrideswalk.org/hawaii or with Brian on Maui at http://mauispiritofsurvivalwalk.com/

Share the love – save lives.

