Making Strides Against Breast Cancer Hawaii 2015 – Portrait of Hope

Positively beautiful!
Positively beautiful!
Melissa Howard
“My life today is very colorful and beautiful; I laugh a lot and I hug people more!”

An itch was all it took for Melissa Howard to discover she had Stage 2A Triple-negative breast cancer. When her diagnosis was confirmed in 2014 she said, “I felt a shocking calm and was numb, but I quickly dusted myself off and started the fight. Cancer was not going to win; I was.”

As Melissa began her journey with cancer treatment she leaned on her family, her faith and the American Cancer Society for the love and support she needed to help beat the disease. Melissa spoke with an American Cancer Society Reach to Recovery volunteer whose comforting conversations helped her to realize that she could beat her breast cancer. She found comfort in talking with someone who had been down the same road and came out better than ever. “The Reach to Recovery program gave me hope for the future, and this is why I’m supporting Making Strides Against Breast Cancer,” says Melissa. “I want to help fund the American Cancer Society’s mission to help save lives and to inspire other breast cancer survivors.”

Melissa’s love for life is apparent the moment she steps into the room; her smile and her attitude are infectious. When Melissa talks to others about their journey she says,” think positive; you are much more powerful than you know, and you will get through this.”

Sign up and donate today at Making Strides Against Breast Cancer Hawaii

