Looking for You — An invitation from your staff partner

It has been an eventful and exciting 2013 for me. As a new staff partner at American Cancer Society, I have had the good fortune of working with many great people on several projects throughout the year. I have grown and been challenged in new ways, all the while meeting remarkable people with beautiful stories. What continues to amaze me as the year draws to a close is the enthusiasm and dedication of both staff and volunteers here at the Society. Though I have worked and volunteered in many social benefit roles, cancer touches us deeply, creating a strong convictions within those of us who are working to finish the fight against it.

RFL MI 

Looking forward to 2014, I am excited to be seeking people for my volunteer committees. These committees  plan our fundraising events like Relay for Life, Hope Gala and Bridging Birthdays. I have watched how these dedicated volunteers bring their best, do amazing work and even get challenged to expand and grow, while creating these spectacular events.

Gala

So I am writing this post, not only on behalf of my own  search for more volunteers, but on behalf of all our committees throughout Hawai`i. If you have thoughts about joining the fight against cancer or have been touched by the disease in some way, I am inviting you to consider getting involved. We offer all kinds of opportunities for fitting a variety  of schedules and lifestyles.

If you’ve ever thought about sharing your time for a great cause, I can honestly say this is a great way to share it. Come help us make this a world with less cancer and more birthdays!

 BridgingBirthdays

I am including a listing below of the various events and the staff partner to contact for each. Please reach out to me or to any of them if you want to learn more about a specific event or just what it might be like to contribute.

Truly,

Arthur Grau

Specialist, Distinguished Events

Here is a touching story from four ACS volunteers that can give you an idea of why some people volunteer. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ruiFx2CJ38A

 

Listing of Events by staff partner

Staff Contact Email Date URL
Arthur Grau arthur.grau@cancer.org
O`ahu Hope Gala Honolulu 5/17/14 hopegalahonolulu.org
Bridging Birthdays – Carnival August bridgingbirthdays.org
Katie Burleson katie.burleson@cancer.org
Kaua`i Gala – Hoedown for Hope 2/15/14 hoedownforhope.org
Relay Field Day of Kapaa Middle TBA NONE
RFL of Kaua`i 5/3 – 5/4/14 relayforlife.org/kauaihi
Bark For Life of Kaua`i TBA relayforlife.org/barkkauaihi
RFL of Northshore 8/15 – 8/16/14 relayforlife.org/hanaleihi
Michelle Hashimoto michelle.hashimoto@cancer.org
O`ahu Relay Recess Keoneula Elementary 11/21/13 N/A
RFL of Leeward Oahu 4/4 – 4/5/14 relayforlife.org/leewardoahu
RFL of Koolauloa 4/25 – 4/26/14 relayforlife.org/koolauloahi
RFL of Windward Oahu TBA (7/2014) relayforlife.org/windwardoahuhi
Pam Webster pam.webster@cancer.org
Maui RFL of Maui County Youth 2/15 – 2/16/14 relayforlife.org/mauiyouthhi
RFL of Central South Maui 6/28 – 6/29/14 relayforlife.org/centralmauihi
RFL of West Maui 7/19 – 7/20/14 relayforlife.org/westmauihi
Molokai RFL of Molokai 8/8 – 8/9/14 relayforlife.org/molokaihi
Roberto Laanan roberto.laanan@cancer.org
O`ahu RFL of University of Hawaii-Manoa 4/12 – 4/13/14 relayforlife.org/uhmanoahi
RFL of Magic Island 7/19 – 7/20/14 relayforlife.org/magicislandhi
RFL of Kamehameha Schools 8/16 – 8/17/14 relayforlife.org/kamehameha
Big Island RFL of Kona 7/11 – 7/12/14 relayforlife.org/konahi
RFL of Kohala 8/8 – 8/9/14 relayforlife.org/kohalahi
Relay Recess Waikoloa Elem & Mid TBA TBA
Relay Field Day of Kohala Middle TBA TBA
Sharese Thomas shraese.thomas@cancer.org
Big Island RFL of University of Hawaii-Hilo 3/14 – 3/15/14 relayforlife.org/uhhilohi
Bark For Life of Waimea 4/26/14 TBA
RFL of Honokaa High School 5/10/14 relayforlife.org/honokaahshi
Bark For Life of Hilo 6/7/14 relayforlife.org/barkhilohi
RFL of Hilo Community 7/19 – 7/20/14 relayforlife.org/hilohi
Relay Recess of Keaau Elementary TBA TBA
RFL of Waimea TBA relayforlife.org/waimeahi
Tina Noket tina.noket@cancer.org
Guam RFL of Guam Community 5/23 – 5/24/14 relayforlife.org/guamgu
Guam Bark For Life of Guam 8/30/14 relayforlife.org/barkguamgu
Guam Relay Recess Merizo Martyrs TBA TBD
Staff
O`ahu Making Strides Against Breast Cancer makingstrideshonolulu.org
Advertisements