Sandra Hoggan, Breast Cancer survivor

Breast Cancer survivorLife was great for Sandra Hoggan.  She was married to a very supportive husband, had two young daughters and a fantastic job.

“I used to fly for the Air National Guard.  I was a navigator on the KC135,” remembers Sandra.

Then in October 2004 Sandra’s life took a turn when she found a lump on her breast.

“I was back flying, so I completed my mission, came back and went to see my doctor,” Sandra explains.  “My doctor confirmed the lump was breast cancer…stage III.”

She started treatment rigth away and upon losing her hair, enrolled in the American Cancer Society Look Good…Feel Better class, where she learned how to cope with appearance-related side effects of her cancer treatment.

By the end of 2005, she thought she was cancer free, but less than a year later Sandra’s cancer metastasized into her spine.  In 2007, she participated in a five month clinical trial at the City of Hope Medical Center.  She has been cancer-free ever since.

“I make the most of life,” Sandra says. “I treasure what I have in front of me.  I live life to the fullest and I am thankful for what I am blessed with!”

