Ann Jones, Kuliouou, HI

At the time of her diagnosis, 55 year-old Ann Jones was a teacher at a parochial school.  With the support of her family, friends, students and many others, Ann’s early diagnosis was successfully treated, enabling her to continue her journey as an educator, but on a newfound topic: cancer awareness.

“When you’re diagnosed with cancer, getting accurate information is so important,” Ann explains.  “When I found out I had breast cancer, I wanted to know everything .  I wanted to know what were my treatment options, what questions I needed to ask my doctor, will I lose my hair.” All this informatio is available online, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week at cancer.org or by calling 1-800-227-2345.

After her battle with breast cancer, Ann realized the importance of education and information.  She began reaching into her community to teach others how to detect and prevent cancer and provide information on programs available to those fighting cancer.  Presently, she works with high school classes to let students know what they can do, and also letting them know what their parents and grandparents can do in the face of cancer.

Ann believes that if you need information about cancer, the American Cancer Society is where you turn.  The knowledge Ann instills in the community lights the way into unfamiliar territory.

