The American Cancer Society Encourages All Communities to Take Action to Save Lives from Cancer

National Minority Cancer Awareness Week Provides Opportunity to Join the Movement for a World with More Birthdays

 

National Minority Cancer Awareness Week is April 18-24, and the American Cancer Society invites all racial/ethnic communities to join in the fight for a world with less cancer and more birthdays (www.morebirthdays.com). As cancer death rates continue to decline, the Society wants to help racial/ethnic communities reduce the impact of cancer by: providing resources to help people stay well through prevention and early detection; providing access to information to help people get well; funding groundbreaking research to help find cures; and fighting back through public policy and community mobilization. 

 

National Minority Cancer Awareness Week is an opportunity to continue to raise awareness of cancer prevention and early detection among minorities. About fifty percent of cancer deaths can be prevented through regularly scheduled screenings, healthy eating, regular physical activity and quitting tobacco use. However, minorities continue to have lower screening rates than whites; report less physical activity than recommended – less than the recommended 30 minutes of moderate-to-vigorous physical activity above usual activities on five or more days per week; and consume less fruits, vegetables and whole grains. The American Cancer Society recommends eating five or more servings of fruits and vegetables each day, choosing whole grains in preference to processed grains and limiting consumption of processed and red meats.

           

“The American Cancer Society wants to empower minority communities in the fight against cancer by providing information that can help prevent cancer,” said Jackie Young, PhD, Chief Staff Officer for Mission at American Cancer Society Hawaii Pacific, Inc. “We encourage minority communities to join the American Cancer Society and make changes that will benefit them in the long run and save lives, including regularly scheduled screenings, eating healthy meals and exercising frequently. We also want these communities to know that we have resources available to them if they are facing a cancer diagnosis.”

           

Resources such as the free 24-hour National Cancer Information Center, which can be reached at 1-800-227-2345, can help answer any question about cancer and provide information on what resources exist for free or low cost cancer screenings. Minority populations across the country can access services provided by the American Cancer Society to reduce the burden of cancer in their communities, such as free transportation to and from treatment, counseling groups, and free lodging for patients who have to travel far away to receive treatment. Minority populations can also fight back against cancer by joining Relay For Life® in their communities to raise funds that support more research, and to celebrate those who have survived the disease (visit www.relayforlife.org to sign up).

              

The American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network (ACS CAN), the Society’s advocacy affiliate, is working at the state and federal level to enact responsible, evidenced based legislation and public policies that help reduce disparities in cancer prevention and treatment, and improve access to quality, affordable care for all Americans. ACS CAN supports increased funding for programs such as the National Breast and Cervical Cancer Early Detection Program, which provides free or low-cost mammograms, Pap tests, and follow-up treatment for the uninsured and underinsured, including racial and ethnic minority women; and the federal Patient Navigator Program, which provides trained patient navigators in minority and other medically underserved communities to help individuals over come barriers to quality health care. More information on ACS CAN efforts can be found at www.acscan.org.

38 thoughts on “The American Cancer Society Encourages All Communities to Take Action to Save Lives from Cancer

  1. If some one wishes expert view regarding blogging and site-building after that i advise him/her to
    pay a visit this webpage, Keep up the fastidious job.

  2. You can give a snide answer or use your Strength, Charisma, or Intelligence.
    And that was the first inkling of it — that’s why we had hacking quite
    early, in the end,” Morin said. Each launch of all of the Apple i – Phone was an amazing eruption of hype so publicity that received customers to this can like moths so that you a flame.

  3. Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was wanting to
    know your situation; we have developed some nice practices and we are
    looking to trade strategies with other folks, why not shoot
    me an e-mail if interested.

  4. Pumpkin- high in fiber and low in calories, pumpkin packs a fortune of disease-fighting nutrients, including potassium, pantothenic acid,
    magnesium, and vitamins C and E. Part of the confusion about superfoods comes from the fact that they are often backed up by some legitimate scientific
    research; however, the conclusions may be blown way out of proportion, becoming dubious claims eagerly
    accepted as fact. In reality, a number of these pills can help but only if you
    couple them with lifestyle changes.

  5. Hmm is anyone else experiencing problems with the images on this blog loading?
    I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any feed-back would be greatly appreciated.

  6. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve be aware your stuff previous to and
    you are simply extremely wonderful. I actually like what you’ve received here, certainly like what you’re saying and the
    way in which during which you are saying it. You are making it entertaining and you
    still care for to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to learn far
    more from you. That is really a tremendous site.

  7. Sure, the Italian system looks like it’s more broken compared to the U.
    Anime fans would rage were that it is left off any set of anime any particular one should watch inside a life time.
    Together with, of course, the actual fact cartoons commenced being shown in the media meant characters must be
    tamed down a smaller.

  8. Peoples mmay feel the chronicle strewss
    and headache a result of the insufficient intake with the water.
    – After that time, keep oven door oen and enable the cheese cake stay inside oven for starters hour.
    Follow thhe instructions below to produce these chains.

  9. Hello there! Quick question that’s entirely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?
    My website looks weird when browsing from my iphone4.
    I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to resolve this problem.
    If you have any suggestions, please share.
    Cheers!

  10. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your
    blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later.
    Cheers

  11. After I initially left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new
    comments are added- checkbox and from now on every time a comment
    is added I receive 4 emails with the same comment.
    Is there an easy method you can remove me from that service?
    Appreciate it!

  12. It is appropriate time to make some plans for the longer term and it is time to be happy.
    I have read this submit and if I may just I wish to
    counsel you some attention-grabbing things or suggestions.
    Perhaps you could write subsequent articles referring to
    this article. I want to learn even more issues approximately
    it!

  13. Greetings from Ohio! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your
    blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, fantastic
    blog!

  14. Thank you, I’ve just been looking for info approximately this topic for a long time and yours
    is the best I have found out so far. However, what
    concerning the conclusion? Are you sure concerning the source?

  15. each time i used to read smaller content that as well
    clear their motive, and that is also happening with this
    paragraph which I am reading here.

  16. Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find
    It truly useful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to give something back and help others like you
    helped me.

  17. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a
    very well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of
    your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  18. Howdy! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.

    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest
    authoring a blog article or vice-versa? My site discusses a lot of the same
    subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit
    from each other. If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

  19. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject
    matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get got an shakiness over that you wish be delivering the following.
    unwell unquestionably come more formerly again since exactly the same nearly a
    lot often inside case you shield this increase.

  20. Its such as you read my mind! You appear to understand so much about this, like you wrote the ebook in it or something.
    I believe that you just could do with some % to pressure
    the message house a bit, however instead of that, that is
    fantastic blog. A great read. I will certainly be back.

  21. It is appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I’ve learn this publish and if I may I wish to suggest
    you some interesting issues or suggestions. Perhaps you can write next articles regarding this article.

    I desire to read even more things approximately it!

  22. Just want to say your article is as surprising. The clearness
    to your post is simply spectacular and i could think you’re knowledgeable on this subject.

    Well together with your permission allow me to snatch your RSS
    feed to stay updated with approaching post. Thank you a million and please keep
    up the rewarding work.

  23. Hi there would you mind letting me know which hosting
    company you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different web browsers and I must
    say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a
    good hosting provider at a honest price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

  24. It’s amazing to pay a visit this web page and reading the views of all colleagues on the topic of this article, while I am also eager of getting knowledge.

  25. I got this site from my buddy who informed me concerning this website and
    at the moment this time I am visiting this site and reading very informative
    articles or reviews at this time.

  26. Have you ever thought about publishing an ebook or guest authoring on other websites?

    I have a blog based on the same ideas you discuss and would loove
    to have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would value your work.
    If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send mee an e-mail.

Leave a Reply

